Speaker: Christopher W. Olsen, DVM, PhD, University of Wisconsin-Madison Professor of Public Health, Department of Pathobiological Sciences, School of Veterinary Medicine Associate Director for One Health, Acting Director (2014-2015), Global Health Institute

Event Date: 7/15/2015

Event Times: 12:05 - 1:00 pm

Location: Froehlke Auditorium

Christopher W. Olsen is Professor of Public Health in the Department of Pathobiological Sciences at the School of Veterinary Medicine and Associate Director for One Health of the Global Health Institute at the University of Wisconsin-Madison (Acting Director 2014-2015). He is also affiliated with the Master of Public Health degree program and a member of the MPH Advisory Committee; and, a member of the UW-Madison Morgridge Center for Public Service and Wisconsin Without Borders Advisory Committees, and the Division of International Studies Academic Planning Council.

Dr. Olsen received his DVM and PhD degrees from Cornell University and completed a post-doctoral fellowship at the UW-Madison. From 2007-2012 he served as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs in the School of Veterinary Medicine, and from September 2012 through June 2014, he served as Interim Vice Provost for Teaching and Learning for the UW-Madison.

Dr. Olsen’s research has focused on public health aspects of influenza in animals and the viral and host factors that control transmission of influenza viruses among people and animals. More generally, he has strong educational interests in zoonotic infectious diseases, in building bridges between the veterinary medical and human medical professions, and in promoting an cross-disciplinary One Health approach for global and public health. He has published more than 65 refereed research and educational journal articles, as well as numerous proceedings and book chapters. He is also the recipient of several faculty honors, including election to the University of Wisconsin-Madison Teaching Academy, and the School of Veterinary Medicine’s Norden Distinguished Teacher Award and Walter F. Renk Distinguished Professor Award.


Institute News